

Offices of the Twenty-Seventh Congressional District of New York to Remain Open to Serve and Assist Constituents

September 30, 2019

PRESS RELEASE

Washington, DC—The Washington, DC, office and the district offices of former Representative Chris Collins will continue to serve the people of the Twenty-Seventh Congressional District of New York under the supervision of the Clerk of the House of Representatives. Representative Collins resigned from the 116th Congress on September 30, 2019.

Staff members of Representative Collins remain on the House payroll under the supervision of the Clerk of the House to receive and undertake constituent casework, to help in handling business with the departments of the executive branch of the government, to provide general status information on pending legislation and to offer other general constituent services provided by House offices. The Clerk of the House is Cheryl L. Johnson.

The Washington, DC, office and the New York district offices are presently open on a daily basis to accommodate congressional business. Under House Rules, the Clerk manages the offices when a Member dies, resigns, or is expelled. This authority, which does not include voting representation, continues until a successor is elected to fill the vacant seat. This is the fifth vacancy to occur during the 116th Congress. Eighteen vacancies occurred in the 115th Congress.

The Washington office is located in 2243 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515, telephone (202) 225-5265. Mail addressed to the Office of the Twenty-Seventh Congressional District of New York will be delivered through the internal House mail distribution system. The district offices are located at 8203 Main Street, Suite 2, Williamsville, NY 14221; and 128 Main Street, Geneseo. NY 14454.

Requests for further details should be directed to the Office of the Clerk (202) 225-7000.