Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives
Click here to view the Clerk's new site
Skip to Content

Congressional Profile

116th Congress, 2nd Session

« Back

Press Release

Offices of the Fourth Congressional District of Texas to Remain Open to Serve and Assist Constituents

May 26, 2020

Washington, DC -- The Washington, DC, office and the district offices of former Representative John Ratcliffe will continue to serve the people of the Fourth Congressional District of Texas under the supervision of the Clerk of the House of Representatives. Representative Ratcliffe resigned from the 116th Congress on May 22, 2020.

Staff members of Representative Ratcliffe remain on the House payroll under the supervision of the Clerk of the House to receive and undertake constituent casework, to help in handling business with the departments of the executive branch of the government, to provide general status information on pending legislation and to offer other general constituent services provided by House offices. The Clerk of the House is Cheryl L. Johnson.

The Washington, DC, office and the Texas district offices are presently open on a daily basis to accommodate congressional business. Under House Rules, the Clerk manages the offices when a Member dies, resigns, or is expelled. This authority, which does not include voting representation, continues until a successor is elected to fill the vacant seat. This is the tenth vacancy to occur during the 116th Congress. Eighteen vacancies occurred in the 115th Congress.

The Washington office is located in 223 Cannon House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515, telephone (202) 225-6673. Mail addressed to the Office of the Fourth Congressional District of Texas will be delivered through the internal House mail distribution system.

The district offices are located at 6531 Horizon Road, Suite A, Rockwall, TX 75032; 100 West Houston Street, 1st Floor, Sherman, TX 75090; and Texarkana College—Media Center, 2500 North Robison Road, Suite 190, Texarkana, TX 75599.

Requests for further details should be directed to the Office of the Clerk
(202) 225-7000.

Office of the Clerk - U.S. Capitol, Room H154, Washington, DC 20515-6601 | (202) 225-7000

For general inquiries:
For general technical support: