Skip to Content

Legislative Activities

Try the New Floor Summary and House Live 2.0 Site 

House Floor Activities
Legislative Day of October 29, 2015

October 2018
Floor ProceedingsBillsVotes
Time Bill Activity
9:00:59 A.M. The House convened, starting a new legislative day.
9:01:53 A.M. Today's prayer was offered by Monsignor Donn Heiar, St. John Vianney Catholic Church, Janesville, Wisconsin.
9:03:19 A.M. The Speaker announced approval of the Journal. Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal stands approved.
9:03:21 A.M. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE - The Chair designated Mr. Chabot to lead the Members in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.
9:04:30 A.M. CALL OF THE HOUSE - Pursuant to clause 7 of rule XX, Mr. Tiberi moved a call of the House. The Speaker announced that under clause 7(b) of rule XX, he conferred recognition for that purpose and that without objection, a call of the House would be ordered.
9:35:45 A.M. Call of the House Quorum responded: 421 present (Roll no. 580).
9:36:14 A.M. Mr. Boehner was recognized by the Chair to address the House and announced his resignation from the Office of Speaker.
9:47:38 A.M. ORDER OF BUSINESS-ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER - Pursuant to the announcement of October 29, 2015, the Speaker announced that the floor was open to receive nominations for the office of the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives.
9:48:32 A.M. NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICE OF SPEAKER - The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rogers, by direction of the Republican Conference, nominated the Honorable Paul D. Ryan, a Member from State of Wisconsin. The Honorable Xavier Becerra, by direction of the Democratic Caucus, nominated the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, a Member from the State of California. No other nominations were put forward.
9:55:19 A.M. APPOINTMENT OF TELLERS - The Clerk announced the appointment of the following Members to act as Tellers during the Roll Call for Election of Speaker: Mrs. Miller of Michigan; Mr. Brady of Pennsylvania; Ms. Kaptur; and Ms. Ros-Lehtinen.
10:46:57 A.M. Roll call 581 - Election of the Speaker. Mr. Ryan (WI) 236, Ms. Pelosi 184, Mr. Webster (FL) 9, Mr. Powell 1, Mr. Cooper 1, Mr. Lewis 1 (Roll no. 581). Mr. Ryan (WI) was elected Speaker.
10:48:36 A.M. COMMITTEE TO ESCORT THE SPEAKER-ELECT - The Speaker appointed a Committee of Members to escort the Speaker-elect into the Chamber and to the Chair.
10:55:53 A.M. The Speaker-elect was escorted into the Chamber by the Escort Committee and introduced by Representative Pelosi, Democratic Leader, before assuming the Chair.
11:10:18 A.M. ADDRESS BY THE SPEAKER-ELECT - The Speaker-elect addressed the House prior to taking the Oath of Office which will be administered by the Dean of the House, Representative John Conyers of Michigan.
11:25:35 A.M. ADMINISTRATION OF THE OATH OF OFFICE - The Dean of the House administered the Oath of Office to the Speaker-elect.
11:27:02 A.M. H. Res. 503 Considered as privileged matter. H. Res. 503 — "Authorizing the Clerk to inform the President of the election of the Speaker."
11:27:38 A.M. H. Res. 503 On agreeing to the resolution Agreed to without objection.
11:27:43 A.M. H. Res. 503 Motion to reconsider laid on the table Agreed to without objection.
11:27:53 A.M. H. Res. 504 Considered as privileged matter. H. Res. 504 — "To inform the Senate the election of the Speaker."
11:28:19 A.M. H. Res. 504 On agreeing to the resolution Agreed to without objection.
11:28:22 A.M. H. Res. 504 Motion to reconsider laid on the table Agreed to without objection.
11:28:23 A.M. The House received a communication from the Honorable Paul D. Ryan. Mr. Ryan (WI) submitted his resignation from the Committee on Ways and Means and the Joint Committee on Taxation. The resignation was accepted without objection.
11:29:24 A.M. The House received a communication from The Honorable Paul D. Ryan, Speaker. Pursuant to H. Con. Res. 1, clause 12 of rule I, and any concurrent resolutions of the current Congress as may contemplate my designation of Members to exercise similar authority, the Speaker notified the Clerk of his designation of Representative Kevin McCarthy of California to exercise any authority regarding assembly, reassembly, convening, or reconvening of the House in the event of death or inability of that designee, the alternate Members of the House listed in the letter bearing the date of October 29, 2015 placed with the Clerk are designated, in turn, for the same purposes.
11:31:00 A.M. SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE - The Speaker appointed the Honorable Jeff Denham, the Honorable Mac Thornberry, the Honorable Fred Upton, the Honorable Andy Harris, the Honorable Barbara Comstock, and the Honorable Luke Messer to act as Speaker pro tempore to sign enrolled bills and joint resolutions through the remainder of the One Hundred Fourteenth Congress.
11:31:50 A.M. Mr. McCarthy asked unanimous consent that when the House adjourns on Thursday, October 29, 2015, it adjourn to meet on Monday, November 2, 2015 at noon for morning-hour debate and 2 p.m. for legislative business. Agreed to without objection.
11:31:52 A.M. Mr. McCarthy moved that the House do now adjourn.
11:31:53 A.M. On motion to adjourn Agreed to by voice vote.
11:31:55 A.M. The House adjourned pursuant to a previous special order. The next meeting is scheduled for 12:00 p.m. on November 2, 2015.
« Previous Day Next Day »
Office of the Clerk - U.S. Capitol, Room H154, Washington, DC 20515-6601 | (202) 225-7000

For general inquiries:
For general technical support:
For HouseLive support: